New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy signed a very extensive EV legislation package last Friday. Under the new law, New Jersey residents will be eligible for a rebate of $25 per mile of electric range on the vehicle, up to $5,000. For instance, a plug-in hybrid with a range of 30 electric miles will receive a $750 rebate, while an all-electric vehicle with a range over 200 miles will receive the full $5,000 rebate. While the program will be formally launched by July, the governor has confirmed that the rebate is effective immediately, so any vehicle lease/purchase after January 17, 2020 will be eligible for the rebate.
As before, zero-emission vehicles are also exempt from sales and use tax in New Jersey. This rebate is also in addition to the federal EV tax credit of up to $7,500. Between all three incentives, an eligible $40,000 vehicle could receive a total of $15,300 in savings! For details on New Jersey’s incentives, visit Drive Green NJ.
New Jersey is aiming to have 330,000 electric vehicles by 2025 and 2 million by 2035 on the road. They also set aggressive goals for expanding the state’s public charging network. We commend the state of New Jersey for placing a priority on electric transportation and setting a standard for other states to follow.
Several other states also have new, updated, or notable incentives, including those below. For incentives in all 50 states, visit Plug In America’s incentives map and visit PlugStar.com to explore vehicles available in your area.
Clean Vehicle Rebate Project
A few changes to California’s state rebate took effect December 3, 2019. The standard rebate is now $2,000 for all-electrics and $1,000 for plug-in hybrids with an MSRP cap of $60,000. Low- and moderate-income residents are eligible for an additional $2,500 rebate. The application must now be submitted within three months of the vehicle purchase. For details, visit the Clean Vehicle Rebate Project.
Income-Based Clean Air Vehicle Decal Program
Starting January 1, 2020, a vehicle that was previously issued a Clean Air Vehicle Decal for HOV lane access may be re-issued a decal if all the following requirements are met. For details, visit the California DMV’s website.
- The new, current registered owner is NOT the owner of the vehicle when the decals issued prior to January 2017 expired.
- The new registered owner name(s) matches DMV records.
- The applicant’s total annual household income is at or below $65,760 (this amount is subject to change).
- Total Annual Household Income requires the disclosure of the annual income of all members of the household, age 17 and older, who reside together and share common living expenses regardless if they are related.
Qualified all-electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles registered in Colorado are eligible for a tax credit. Starting January 1, 2020, the tax credit decreased to $4,000 for purchase or conversion; $2,000 for lease. Eligible purchased vehicles must be new and eligible leased vehicles must have a lease with a term of not less than two years.
A purchaser may assign the tax credit generated through the purchase, lease, or conversion to the financing entity, allowing the purchaser to realize the value of the tax credit at the time of purchase, lease, or conversion. For details, visit the Colorado Department of Revenue.
Starting January 1, 2020, Massachusetts residents will be able to apply for the re-established MOR-EV incentive. For details, visit the MOR-EV website.
- $2,500 on the purchase or lease of an all-electric vehicle
- $1,500 on the purchase or lease of a plug-in hybrid with a range of at least 25 miles on a battery charge
The New York State Energy Research and Development Authority provides rebates of up to $2,000 for the purchase or lease of a new, eligible all-electric or plug-in hybrid vehicle. The total rebate ranges from $500 to $2,000 depending on the all-electric range of the vehicle. All vehicles with an MSRP of more than $60,000 are eligible for a $500 maximum rebate. For details, visit the Drive Clean Rebate for Plug-In Electric Cars website.
All-electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid vehicles are eligible for a rebate of $2,500 on a first-come, first-served basis for 2,000 applicants. As of publication date, 1,794 rebates are still available. One rebate is available per eligible vehicle. For details, visit the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality website.